Date: 22-April-2024

The B M Birla Science Centre (BMBSC), jointly with The National Academy of Sciences India (NASI) Hyderabad Chapter and Academy for Science Technology and Communication (ASTC), organised “Earth Day Celebrations” on 22nd April 2024. The programme started with lighting a lamp. Dr Sindhuja compered the event. Shyam Kothari, Secretary, BMBSC, welcomed the guests, and Dr C Manikyamba, Emeritus Scientist and Former Chief Scientist, CSIR- NGRI, introduced them. Dr Ch Mohan Rao, Chairman, SAC-ASTC & NASI-Hyd, gave the Presidential Address: Smt A Vani Prasad IAS, Principal Secretary to Govt. – Environment, Forests, Science & Technology, Telangana inaugurated the celebrations. The Chief Guest, Dr H K Gupta, President, Geological Society of India, and Guest of Honour, Dr Prakash Kumar, Director, NGRI, Presided over the Earth Day Celebrations. Dr Venkata Mohan S, Chief Scientist, IICT, delivered an Earth Day Lecture on “Nature-Based Strategies for Earth System Resilience”. The school students and teachers attended the programme well.

A special session, “Meet Geo Scientists,” was held after the inaugural. Geo Scientists Dr Ch Venkateswera Rao, Additional Director General and HOD, Geological Survey of India, Southern Region, Hyd, Sri G Krishna Murthy, Regional Director, Central Ground Water Board (CGWB), Hyd, Dr S Venkata Mohan, Chief Scientist – Environment & Bioengineering, CSIR-IICT, Hyd, Dr T M Babu, Former Director, Geological Survey of India, Hyd, Dr V Balaram, Former Chief Scientist, CSIR- NGRI, Hyd, Dr Labani Ray, Thermal Geophysics Rock Mechanics & Paleomagnetism Div. CSIR-NGRI, Hyd, and Dr Devleena Mani Tiwari, Centre for Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences (CEOAS), University of Hyderabad, participated in the session. This session offered a rare and privileged opportunity for School Students and Science Teachers to interact directly with Geoscientists from various esteemed institutions. This session was a unique platform for the audience to gain insights and knowledge directly from the experts in the field, fostering a deeper understanding of the subject matter.

The guests of the day were felicitated. On the eve of Earth Day 2024, an Essay Writing Competition was held on April 19, 2024. One hundred twenty-four students participated in the competition, and all were invited to the Earth Day Celebrations on April 22, 2024. The winners of the Essay Writing Competition were announced by Ravi Raja P, Scientific Officer, BMBSC and Dr H K Gupta, Dr Ch Mohan Rao, along with C A Shyam Kothari, Secretary, BMBSC, R Subramanyam, Projects Officer, BMBSC, awarded the winners with a memento and a Certificate. All the participants were provided with the certificates. The programme concluded with a Vote of Thanks by C L Narasimha Rao, Secretary of ASTC.

Subscribe Newsletter